scottbot
11-25-2008, 12:50 AM
Cool.
I like that.
Good job Terry.

mikeacg
11-25-2008, 06:35 AM
Terry,

Very nice! You have given me yet another idea to try. I love this forum!!!

Mike

phil_o
11-25-2008, 08:32 AM
Very nice.

myxpykalix
11-25-2008, 09:16 AM
Terry,
Is that regular mdf? How do you plan on finishing it? Very nice...

tkovacs
11-25-2008, 09:59 AM
Yes - just regular old MDF. Shellac applied until the cut surface was saturated. Has been spray painted ivory and will leave it as is - let the carving have the spotlight.

Thanks for the comments!

myxpykalix
11-25-2008, 01:12 PM
Please explain the reason for applying the shellac to saturate the cut surfaces then over top that painting it? Will you put something in the carving to accentuate the numerals and design? Do you have a pic of the finished piece?

I am not experienced in applying finishes so i would think that applying shellac first would prevent the paint from penetrating the mdf and just laying on the shellac base?

tkovacs
11-25-2008, 02:42 PM
Well - to start I am no finishing wizard.
Shellac was applied before the cut was made to help harden the surface and reduce the "fuzzies" on the cut surface. I have not tried a with and without test so I don't know how successful this is but it seems to be working.

You are correct, the shellac does prevent the paint from penetrating the surface and that is its second purpose. Without the shellac, spray paint just disappears into the MDF requiring more coats of paint. The other plus side of shellac is that it dries quickly, ~15 minutes, and the dried surface can be touched up with an alcohol damp rag if you have made a mess.

After the cut, I soak the exposed surface with more shellac before the paint is applied.