PDA

View Full Version : Template Question

matt_raymond60
07-27-2010, 06:22 PM
This is a really basic question but I am new to this program. I need to cut some templates to use in my Unique door machine in order to make some brow raised panel doors. I can buy them from Unique but we are talking around $1500 for the whole set. The templates need to be cut from 1/4 inch stock, they will be just under 30" long with the primary width 3 3/4" wide. When they are done the templates will be rectangles with either an arch 1 1/2" above the long edge or 1 1/2" below the long edge (of varying widths depending on the door size) so that my shaper will follow the appropriate path for cutting either the rail or panel. I have tried drawing a rectangle and using the arch tool to make the arch where I want it but that doesn't seem to work. I know that this should be really easy but it is the first time I have tried to do something with my Bot. Any suggestions?

Brady Watson
07-27-2010, 06:29 PM
Can you post a pic of how the template should look?

-B

gc3
07-27-2010, 09:51 PM
This is a really basic question but I am new to this program. I need to cut some templates to use in my Unique door machine in order to make some brow raised panel doors. I can buy them from Unique but we are talking around $1500 for the whole set. The templates need to be cut from 1/4 inch stock, they will be just under 30" long with the primary width 3 3/4" wide. When they are done the templates will be rectangles with either an arch 1 1/2" above the long edge or 1 1/2" below the long edge (of varying widths depending on the door size) so that my shaper will follow the appropriate path for cutting either the rail or panel. I have tried drawing a rectangle and using the arch tool to make the arch where I want it but that doesn't seem to work. I know that this should be really easy but it is the first time I have tried to do something with my Bot. Any suggestions?

Is this something similar you are looking for?