PDA

View Full Version : Sculpt nouveau

steve_g
01-13-2011, 10:09 AM
This is my first attempt at using Sculpt nouveau products and I’m hoping to gain some insight from others with experience. The attached photos show my results: The “Green man” clock works cover was coated with the “Iron B” metal coating and the “Tiffany Green” patina applied over that. This was to result in bright orange “rust” but I’m only getting token amounts of it. When the first attempt didn’t work, I really soaked the next one with the patina but got the same results. The scroll work example was coated with “Copper B” metal coating and also treated with the “Tiffany green” patina; this was to result in a traditional oxidized copper look. This time the results were STUNNING, exactly what I was looking for, until I clear coated it. Then the lovely green patina just went flat and uninteresting. Any insights by people who have tried this very interesting product line would be appreciated.

Steve

billp
01-13-2011, 11:07 AM
Steve,
As you now know there are about a gazillion different possible results with Sculpt Nouveau. Things such as temperature, thickness of coating, time the coating is left on the subject piece, number of patinas applied, etc., etc. can ALL change the expected results.
Not surprised about the Iron results, out of all of their colors it is the one that seems to generate the least reaction when top coated with patina. Some guys use it more as an "accent" color to create streaks of "rust" on top of whatever base coat they have laid down.
Ron Young who created the system gave a great demo at one of our Jamborees down in Durham, and in a matter of minutes he laid 4-5 different patinas "wet on wet" right on top of one another. For the next half hour we could actually SEE each layer going through it's changes, and then reacting with the layer that was added on top of it.