PDA

View Full Version : Is there an app for this?

myxpykalix
12-22-2011, 08:34 PM
If you are like me, i have various types of files (shopbot and not) in folders all over in a couple different drives. They might be named something different or not.

The point is sometimes it takes a basic manual search thru folder after folder to try to find something because I might forget where i put it. The problem I have is i find myself going back thru folders i have already searched because i don't remember that i have already searched it.

My question is, is there any type of app that acts like windows explorer that lets you search thru folders but somehow greys out folders or somewhow marks folders that you have already opened?:confused:

gerryv
12-22-2011, 10:08 PM
Jack, An app may not be the only answer. It seems that there is a trend towards adding "meta-data" to your files. These are key works that you attach to the file (somehow?) that searches can find. I'm just learning about using this capability in Final Cut Pro X, a video editing program and it works great for finding and filtering but, unfortunately, I have no idea about how to use the capability in other programs. Maybe someone like Dana does?

CNYDWW
12-22-2011, 10:19 PM
This is why i have stacks and stacks of subfolders on my computer. I wish i could add tags to files.

knight_toolworks
12-23-2011, 12:11 AM
aspire will help in the new files will show a preivew of the part in the thumbnail view. but it means you have to open the file and save it again to get it to work.

myxpykalix
12-23-2011, 09:40 AM
This is not only for shopbot related files but all other files. Sometimes I might be looking for a dxf of a reindeer i got say a year ago. I try to remember to put all dxf's in a folder named "dxfs" but sometimes it sneaks out of there and hides in other folders and i forget where it is.