PDA

View Full Version : Desk top Shopbot

Haitham
12-31-2011, 03:00 AM
Hi
I am new to the cnc world, I've purchased a desktop 2 months ago for my hobby, and I've been experimenting with it. I have three issues:
1- I am doing some engraving on a piece of Corian, since its surface is uneven the engraving has different depths at different areas, would you recommend a spring loaded tool for the problem? And is it compatable with the desktop?
2- I left the machine engraving a 6 hr job at depth of a fraction of an inch, when I came back after it finished the job, I noticed that it went crazy at some point and plunged all the way to the bottom of the piece engraving a small area the full depth. Does anybody have any suggestion as what might have happened?
3- While doing a table surfacing job the tool was plunging deeper as it cut the interior area making it different levels, lookin like a seating in a stadium.
After this job the tool would not go up. It would go down no matter what I press on the console. Any idea?

myxpykalix
12-31-2011, 12:08 PM
1- I am doing some engraving on a piece of Corian, since its surface is uneven the engraving has different depths at different areas, would you recommend a spring loaded tool for the problem? And is it compatable with the desktop?

My experience is with flat corian. However if you are using an uneven material then you need to go back into whatever program you use and remake the file so that you use the "table" as your Z zero point. And then give your engraving aa specific depth.

Then when you mount your material you set your Z zero to the surface of the table. The result will be that the machine will cut your engraving to a specific depth based on the height of the bit from the surface of the table.
The problem you have now is that you are probably setting your Z to the highest point on the surface and when it gets to a dip in the material it doesn't cut as deep thereby causing the uneven depths.