PDA

View Full Version : Mounting bracket for router

ctoddh
03-01-2002, 11:30 PM
While recently trying to plane a glue up of laminated boards I noticed that the rectangle I cut resembled a stair step patern. Upon further inspection of the router and mounting bracket I discovered that the aluminum U channel that the router was sitting in had been twisted slightly. This caused the tip of the router bit to be off in the Y direction. The machine that I work on sat for 2 years virtually unused (PR-96) before I came to work for this company. I have been running it pretty heavy for the last 5 months and don't know if I was the cause of the damage or if something before my time did it. When I removed the bracket from the machine and set it on the base of the unmounted router I noticed that when the bracket is slid towards the bottom of the cylinder on the router the one side of the bracket is flush and the other side is almost 1/8" higher. Is this something that other people have had problems with? I have a second Z or A axis and when I inspected this bracket there was only a minimal bend noticed, but there was still one there. I am going on Monday to the local metal machine shop to have brackets made from steel but I wanted to see if I was the only one to have this problem. I tend to keep my feed rates slow for finish purposes so I dont think I have overstressed the brackets, but like I said I dont know what was done with the machine before I started working with it. Thanks to all those who reply.

Ted Hall, ShopBot
03-03-2002, 07:12 PM
Hi Todd,

We beefed the bracket up on the PRT models, and more recently have begun shipping a bracket that is a cast and machined ring. Unfortunately, the new brackets will not fit on the smaller footprint (tubing) of the PR model Z car. However, we'd be happy to send a new bracket of the type you have, let us know.

ctoddh
03-08-2002, 11:48 PM