PDA

View Full Version : Never built a cabinet before!

crash5050
07-17-2012, 11:03 PM
Now, I have a PRS Standard, and have effectivley opened a cabinet shop. The question is which software do I use to design, nest and cut?

I have been using CNC for over 3 years just piddling with Aspire, doing carvings and such.

David

gene
07-17-2012, 11:42 PM
Download the free trial version of cabinet parts pro that Ryan at shopbot sells. I have been using it for years and it does very good once you get the program set up. Very easy to learn , very easy to set up and very fast to build the cabinet boxes once you cut them. for the money you will not beat it. if you need help setting up the program i can help you with that also. Gene

crash5050
07-17-2012, 11:59 PM
You recommend CPP over hte Ecabs Shopbot link?
I do like the price difference.

David

bruce_taylor
07-18-2012, 12:24 AM
I have played with lots of programs have CPP and I prefer to designs my own parts in a program like aspire, partworks etc.. I use artcam alot so I am most comfortable with it. I do all custom work so it's a little different each time and I can design it pretty fast and know exactly what I'm cutting. I have been building cabinets long before the cnc so laying them out is second nature, alot if parts repeat themselves so it goes pretty quick. When I used plug in play programs if you have the setting no dialed in exactly you can destroy alot of plywood quickly. I know alot of people use software with success but I haven't had alot of success with CPP, I may try the link in the future but the learning curve will take some time which I don't have right now, I did cut about 20 sheets into cabinet parts today with no problem and will cut another 20-30 sheets tomorrow. I don't think the software will make you a cabinet maker if you don't understand it really well.

michael_schwartz
07-18-2012, 12:43 PM