PDA

View Full Version : carving files to purchase

ironman55
10-17-2012, 09:47 PM
I am considering a new shopbot buddy 48. I have some questions as I am a newbie to cnc
I will be using the cnc for carvings as you would purchase from Enkeboll or White river.
I am a fan of Stickley furniture and so Stickley style joints.

1. My question, is there files that can be bought on the open market for
Egg and dart, Grape leaves, Acanthus, Crowns, etc......

2. Is the frame on the buddy rigid enough for the .000025 accuracy?
Moving a cnc around seems counter to the need for perfectly level. (When you buy a cnc a mechanic usually comes out and spends the better part of a day to install elvel etc..

3. If the computer / controller is so sensative should it be on an expensive surge / regulated power supply?

4. I ran a shop with a Weeke BP80 point to point and we were told not to have the machine hooked up to an open internet line, due to viruses and such.
Also the length of the cable from the computer to the machine was critical.
Do they make shielded cables for this setup? Most shops have fluorescent lighting, does this type of lighting tend to affect the com lines?
5. What is the best source for bits?

6. Is there a good dummies book out there?

Anyway, thats a good start on questions. I spent most of the day reading everyones posts, GOOD stuff!!!!

Thanks in advance to all!! Ironman55:eek:

garyc
10-17-2012, 10:33 PM
Joseph....
I will try to answer as many as possible.

1) http://www.vectorart3d.com/ and many others with varying quality

2) Yes, however the resolution (positional accuracy) is listed as: PRStd .0006" and alpha .0004"

3) Cant hurt. Mine is (computer). Wasnt all that expensive tho.