PDA

View Full Version : Will I be happy with a Desktop?

JohnCoker
01-11-2014, 04:33 PM
I have been using a big Alpha at the local TechShop for many years, but most of what I do could be done by the Desktop and I'm seriously considering buying one for my home shop (with the spindle).

Before I do, though, I want to make sure it's not a mistake. The table size is obvious. What else am I going to miss from the big brother and is it critical?

I'm not too concerned about the cutting speed (I'm a hobbyist and cutting mostly one-off parts), but I do care about accuracy and quality of cut. Will the desktop (w/ spindle) give me the same results (at reduced feed rates)?

The other thing is the Z travel; it's a shame that there is only 4" of space in there. I mostly cut flat stock (plywood, aluminum and plastics) so I think it'll be OK, but I'm curious how often this limitation bites you.

Anything else that I'm going to be disappointed by?

garyr6
01-11-2014, 05:06 PM
Oh sometimes I wish I had more Z but then I want to be taller and better look'en too.
I don't think I've ever heard of anybody being disappointed with the desktop. They may have a job that could use a bigger machine but never that the desktop could not do what they wanted it to do. Its a great machine, if you doubt it, try fined a used one at any kind of discount.

Brady Watson
01-11-2014, 06:08 PM
It will do everything that Alpha will do, just a little slower. Max usable Z is about 2" when you factor in Max Z movement of about 4.125", the length of the tool + safeZ height. You can monkey around with mounting the spindle a little lower (holes already there) & remove the AL extrusions on the bed to gain some more Z clearance (extrusions are completely removable with no harm done) - but this doesn't increase the stroke of the Z, which is pegged at about 4.125". It would be rare to cut many things over 2" thick anyway, so this isn't much of a problem.