PDA

View Full Version : New wanna be shop botter

race4fun82
11-02-2014, 09:13 AM
Hello all
I have a 33 year old electric sign company and would like to purchase a used shopbot. I have no experience with cnc but am proficient with working with vector designs in sign software (flexi) I'm not sure what I should look for. The main use would be for routing the backs and faces of channel letters. I would also like to offer wood and foam 3-D signs. What is the difference between a "alpha" and a standard? What software should I look at? Router vs spindle.
Do I need a vacuum hold down? How much additional work or cost without the vacuum hold down? Any information would be great.
Thanks in advance.
Bill

bleeth
11-02-2014, 11:26 AM
In short an Alpha is more powerful and quicker running than a Standard. The software that comes with a new machine (V-carve pro) will do quite a bit when it comes to cutting letters and signs. It also has 3-d cutting ability if you import more complicated 3-d designs that are available from a variety of places. A spindle is smoother running, as well as quieter than a router and unlike a router, does not slow down when meeting resistance. Many signmakers do just fine without vacuum holddown.
Signfoam cuts very easily with just about any cnc.
For me, I believe that for true business use one should get as much as one can afford. The upgrade costs and retro-fit work for going from Standard to Alpha costs somewhat more than starting off with one, just as getting a spindle to start with costs less than starting with a router and then upgrading later. Vacuum can be added at any time for the same costs as buying one right away, besides the many vacuum systems, some of which, like a custom self build from Universal vac motors, or keeping an eye out for a good used regen blower, gives the same bang for a lot less buck. Vacuums do depreciate in costs, but well maintained Alphas tend to get a pretty good return.