PDA

View Full Version : Carving using Raster leaves rough edges

Designer
04-17-2015, 12:43 PM
I'm still learning the BT32 I just got. I get better details when carving using raster settings. This was suggested by ShopBot to fix lines resulting from a circular carving path. I am carving an eagle from the Aspire clip art. At each end of the raster path I get a rough edge where it stops. The eagle is recessed below the surface of the material. I was looking for some feature in the tool path software that would allow me to set a final path to clean it up. I don't see one. Any suggestions? I think I can add another tool path, but it would be nice if I could just include it in the carving path.

I am using an 1/8 inch ball nose bit with a .012 offset for the carving path and preceding it with a 1/4 end mill rough pass.

Thanks

Phil

adrianm
04-17-2015, 01:19 PM
Try setting the boundary offset to the radius of the tool. Also do you have a zero plane set?

Joe Porter
04-18-2015, 11:19 AM
I'm not sure if you have V-Carve of Aspire, but Aspire lets me put a vector around my model so that I can change bits to like a .25 end mill and do a profile cut to clean up the edges....and, yes, it would be a separate tool path and bit change. You can also do this prior to running the carving tool paths to allow some relief for the smaller ball nose tools...joe

scottp55
04-18-2015, 05:21 PM
Phil,
Like they said with a vector boundary. I just scaled down one off Todd Bailey's models, and totally spaced looking at the roughing toolpath by itself and didn't notice that my 1/8" bit didn't fit in the left hand border(so it didn't cut:(.
In VCP8 in the left side modeling tab, there's an arrow pointing to the right that will create a boundary around model. Then do a profile cut OUTSIDE the line to the proper depth.
Saved my a** today as a full depth plunge on the left border with an 1/8" 45 engraving could have gotten messy. :)

cowboy1296
04-19-2015, 09:11 AM