PDA

View Full Version : Buddy Startup Essentials

bluecollar
04-21-2009, 06:39 PM
I purchased my Buddy 32x48 and expect delivery in the first week of May. Between now and then I need to start getting essentials ready. I would appreciate any advise on key accessories (hold downs in particular) that I should be working on in the interim so I can hit the ground running. Advise on essential bits would be great too. I'm an experienced woodworker (but a CNC virgin) so I have most common bits.

dana_swift
04-21-2009, 10:11 PM
Hi Steve! And welcome to your new world!

Bits.. I suggest get several 1/4" super "O" down spiral bits from Onsrud. That is a good all round bit, and for your first month or two general cutting is going to be challenging enough. Later you can add V bits, ball noses, and others of various diameters. I don't suggest the SB starter set, most folks wont use all those bits very soon and they can be purchased as you need them.

I now keep bits of diameters ranging from 0.020 to 0.500 for various cutting tasks, and eventually you will get a similar group that meets your needs. The smallest bit I use with any regularity is 0.062 (1/16).

Be sure to have dust collection under control, bots create LOTS of dust. Use the dust hood, it will keep your shop a lot cleaner.

At first, go to home depot and buy a sheet of 1" pink foam for about $10. Do all your first cutting in the air, then in the foam. Dont even put a bit in the router at first, just let the router move around until you see what it is going to do. It starts making sense pretty quickly, you wont cry as much if you ruin a chunk of foam. You will cry if you ruin a chunk of good wood.

Hold-down.. what an issue. At first just mount a sheet of MDF on your table and screw things to it. If you search the forum you will find where I have posted a list of hold down methods I use with my buddy.