PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of doing some crafts and signs for Xmas Bazars???

gundog
09-18-2016, 04:02 PM
This is outside what I have been doing for the last 10 years with my router tables. I retired in January from my day job and started running my Marine Products business full time. Every year for the 10 years I have been in business I have about a 3 month slow period where my business goes to almost zero. In the past when I worked another job that time of the year was a great break but now that I make my living making things I am thinking of switching gears for a couple months and making craft type stuff.

My wife and I are not new to this we used to have a craft booth at a crafters mall about 20 years ago and we did fairly well for side money. This was way before I had any CNC machines I cut stuff out on a band saw and scroll saw and made bird houses and such. My wife is a pretty good artist and she would do all the finish work.

I am not sure what the point of my post is but I am thinking of giving this a shot. I routinely cut plastic and aluminum but I don't do much wood working with my CNC router. I have both vacuum clamping and an extruded clamping area I could clamp boards to. I could use some beginner type info on bits for making signs and cutting wood. I have a supply of some hard woods and some soft woods.

I could also use some info on how to hone my CNC wood working skills and sign making techniques. If anyone has any videos or other training info besides the Vectric tutorials they could point me to that would be great.

My wife mostly does folk art type stuff and I thought some nice carved signs with holiday themes might do well.

I own an older version of Aspire but I noticed the free clip art would not work for me because I needed to sign some license but could not find the license to sign. I also read the clip art was not for commercial use so where do I get some good clip art that I can use to not violate any copy right stuff.

Thanks Mike