PDA

View Full Version : Partwizard How To

bjones
03-14-2007, 11:42 PM
Ok.. pretty new to partwizard at this point, but have a question.. can anyone tell me in a nutshell how to use partwizard to create a pocket hole type cut? meaning cutting along a vector where the right side of the cut is say 1/10th inch deep and the left side goes to half an inch deep. Looked for an obvious answer and didn't see one (I know, it's probably right in front of my face but i'm missing it)..

Thanks in advance!

gene
03-15-2007, 12:10 AM
Brian.
Take a look at cabinetparstpro.com that Ryan Patterson has out . There is a free version and a pro version . Of course the pro has a lot more and is well worth the money . Try it out

thewoodcrafter
03-15-2007, 01:54 AM
I'm no expert but I had to respond. I would not waste my money on Cabinet Parts Pro if I were you. Because I did and found it completely worthless for what I need. I think if you want different depths you have to tool path it with a different tool. Put 2 shapes together to make the shape and size of the pockets you want. Then profile each with your tool. The first tool set at 1/10th deep and the second at 1/2 deep. In the tool path tab pick area clearance path (second to the right). You can use the same tool but you need to edit the depth for each tool path.

myxpykalix
03-15-2007, 02:30 AM
Just a thought and a theory here. It seems like you say what you want to do is machine along a vector starting at one depth and going lower at the end of the vector.
I have cut files for some designs where the bit ran along a vector plunging deeper to create this design. It seems that if you could take a file and isolate those lines of code you could scale them to your parameters because what you want is the gcode movement files.

mzettl
03-15-2007, 07:38 AM
Brian,