PDA

View Full Version : Pretty please Santa, with Birdseye maple on top.

khaos
12-29-2008, 07:15 PM
Part of the SB3 application will not move. Now as a developer I realize this is by design...

What I would like to know is what was the logic behind that. I am a taskbar on the top of the screen guy. I also hide it. My screen resolution is 1920px wide on each monitor. Now I realize that I am not the normal botter here. But perhaps we could take the app off the chain so I can move it where and on which ever monitor I choose? And actually be able to see my taskbar whilst running SB3...

Pretty please with Birdseye maple on top,

myxpykalix
12-29-2008, 09:00 PM
I think the logic behind it's setup is so that you won't be using other applications over top of it while the bot is running so you can get to the stop/spacebar or estop quickly.

Just like how it traps the cursor within the yellow STOP square when running a file. A good safety feature.

Brady Watson
12-30-2008, 07:32 AM
"Now I realize that I am not the normal botter here."

Name one botter who is...

-B

khaos
12-30-2008, 09:09 AM
Frankly, I don't mind the cursor trapping. If its trapped then I am actively cutting so it makes sense. When I am not cutting it should behave as a normal application.

myxpykalix
12-30-2008, 05:21 PM
Yes on occassion while not cutting I have had to go back to another app to correct a toolpath and I have to completely shutdown the control software to get it all out of the way, so I agree i'd like for it to be able to be minimized completely.

bill.young
12-30-2008, 05:46 PM
Hey John,

If you change to Preview mode, the control panel is no longer locked to be "on top", and other programs can be on top of it. It's only when the software is in Cut mode that the red control panel is always on top of everything else.

Bill

rnels
12-30-2008, 06:12 PM
Jack,

If you have windows XP you can download a power toy (Virtual Desktop Manager) from: