PDA

View Full Version : ArtCam Toolpath bit change

applik
09-30-2006, 08:38 PM
The bot is up and running. We have experiments with the moves and carved the shopbot logo on a scrap piece. Have made several relief designs and am ready to carve; just need to make the sbp toolpaths in AC. I did searches on both forums and could not find info on this. Even the online manual does not tell me how the shopbot is going to react even when I run a preview mode, I cannot tell where (or if) I'm going to get a chance to do a bit change. It probably does but I'm still a novice and do not understand what I'm looking for.

1st question: Do I have to do two separate toolpath files for the bot in order to use two different bits. ex: to use a roughing bit first go, then tapered end mill to finish.

2nd question: Does the shopbot stop and let you change bits in the middle of a file automatically or is this something I have to program from shopbot software?

3rd question: If I can change bits in the middle of a program, how do I reset the Z-0 to compensate for the differentlengths of bits.

I'm sure I'll learn all this in time, but this machine is big and loud and just a TINY bit intimidating at the moment!!! I would prefer to be it's master instead of slave; so any light you can shed on this will help.

Thanks,
Shari

paco
09-30-2006, 10:26 PM
1)Unless you have an ATC (automatic tool changer), yes. With an ATC post processor, you would be just watching the whole process.
If you have two independent Z, then I believe something "automatic" is possible but I have to let someone else chime in on this. Still, that would mean a maximum of two bits/tool change.

2)Depends on the above. Have a look at the programing stuff. By default, most of this is up to you.

3)With a good reference; gage block, fix location, the idea is to zero each tool at the VERY same height.

Let us know a little more about your machine setup and your current project(s).

trakwebster
09-30-2006, 10:45 PM