PDA

View Full Version : Part Wizard vs CorelDraw

etepcf
09-24-2005, 09:01 PM
Recently acquired a PR96 with Windows 95 and version 2.38 Shopbot Workship software. I plan to use the machine for wood signs and other small woodworking projects. Should I purchase Part Wizard or CorelDraw? I am very new to this, so I appreciate any feedback to help me make my decision.

Brady Watson
09-24-2005, 09:30 PM
Peter,
Corel is a very powerful program with a softer learning curve than let's say, Adobe Illustrator. While it will allow you to create many designs with macros and available plugins, it doesn't contain any CAM/toolpathing operations.

I would lean more towards PartWizard because you can both design any 2D shape and toolpath it in the same interface. Additionally you have software that was made for your Shopbot CNC, a whole community here to help you when you get stuck and even training videos on the subject.

Hope that helps!
-Brady

danhamm
09-25-2005, 12:33 AM
Peter you can convert a file made in corel to a dxf and the shopbot software has a dxf to sbp converter..it works well..I have made a lot of signs over the years using this method..mostly for real estate and regional signs..but recently another bit of software has come on the scene its called vcarve wizard, you should take a look at it..cheers...Dan

burchbot
09-25-2005, 08:00 AM
Hi
You can get demo versions of both programs (Part Wizard and Vcarve Wizard) that will let you do everything but save file’s. ShopBot website has Part Wizard demo and Vectric has Vcarve wizard. The demo’s are free and you will learn what the programs have to offer before you buy.
Dan

srwtlc
09-25-2005, 04:17 PM
Hi Peter,

Welcome. I know the machine/computer that you purchased, as I helped the young man that you bought it from get aquainted with it earlier this year.