PDA

View Full Version : Artcam tutorials

phil_o
05-18-2005, 07:32 PM
Artcam.com has posted excellent video tutorials for Artcam Pro and Insignia on their website. I learned many new tricks very quickly. If your new to these programs the videos are quite helpful.

joe
05-18-2005, 08:18 PM
Phil,

Thanks for the heads up on the videos.

I have been using Insignia for about three years but was a little confused by the video. Perhaps it was a little too fast for me.

If you care to review the 3D movie, the last portion was doing prism letters. I just couldn't figue how they revmoved the background from the demo sign, then did the prism letters on that This would mean that the letter and the backgound would be the same height. It can't happen this way.

It really seems too slick. I just don't think it's possible unless there is another complete background pass. Is this true slight of hand?

Joe

phil_o
05-19-2005, 07:40 PM
I see why your confused, it appears that they cut into the letters but the final product looks like they cut away the background. Magic I guess.

paco
05-19-2005, 07:54 PM
Hey guys!

Are you (both) refering to http://www.artcam.com/videos/2DCNC.htm (engraving.exe) video file?
If not, what "3D" video?

t_fiddler
05-20-2005, 01:49 AM
Joe
I have been working on prismatic letters for my concrete forms.
I may be wrong, but it seems that the program in Insignia is set up for "cutting out" the letters.
I have been setting a profiling tool (have to) but not using it
I just area clear all the background area AFTER cutting the letters with a V Bit.
I'm pretty pleased with the results.....But the software is confusing on this process.
I'll post some pics if needed

Call me with questions
Thanks
Tom

btk
05-20-2005, 08:39 AM
Tom,

I have used the V-Bit with Profile method for molds as well
http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/messages/2/5167.html?1114647420#POST23788