PDA

View Full Version : Is Aspire for me?

jporter
12-09-2008, 12:51 PM
I am new to CNC programs and machines, but I have had some luck with PartWorks for cutting out flat pieces, etc. I have seen the comments on the new Aspire program and want to take advantage of the introductory price if I can use it. I am wondering if the Aspire program will let me purchase a pattern, such as a wood carving from a website like www.carvingpatterns.com (http://www.carvingpatterns.com) and convert it to a 3-D program to cut on my ShopBot. Am I on the right track? If I have to design the pattern my self, then I think it will not be for me. However, if I can work from a design, then maybe I can do it. Basically, I am talking about trim for furniture to decorate it and make it stand out. Any help in this would be appreciated, joe

zeykr
12-09-2008, 02:19 PM
You can start with a bitmap drawing from carving patterns. The sofware will assist you in converting it to vector format, then you can use the vectors as a basis in Aspire to create a 3d item. BUT, it's not usually quite as simple as pushing a button and getting a usable 3d image. I'd recommend getting a sample from carving patterns website and downloading the Aspire demo and seeing if it's for you.

Speaking of trim for furniture - You have seen James Booth's flourish collection at www.vectorart3d.com (http://www.vectorart3d.com) haven't you? Aspire can also be used to combine pre-existing 3d files like those available from James.

dana_swift
12-09-2008, 02:23 PM
Hi Joseph- I looked at the site you posted the link for, they have excellent "two dimensional" patterns for hand carving. While you could convert them tediously to 3D models for CNC cutting, it would require a fair amount of work for each one.

I suggest you look into various 3D models for CNC you can buy elsewhere, the results will probably be closer to what you are expecting.