PDA

View Full Version : Cuting a round edge in z axis

curtesy
02-22-2010, 09:53 PM
newbie here!

I am trying to cut a round edge on a 2X4. The desired arc of the curve is one inch and I am using a 1/2 inch cove cutter. Plotting the travel in the Y and Z plane in 1 degree increments, I use a spreadsheet to calculate the sine and cosine of the bottom point of the cutter position in one degree increments. I create the sbp file and submit it to the SB. In preview mode, the round edge appears perfect, however, when the cut finishes, I wind up with a vertical (into the Z plane) drop of the edge. The finished product appears as if someone made a perfect round edge using a 2 inch rounding cutter and then cutting off about one inch, leaving a truncated arc.

The cutter position formulae (for the bottom point of the cutter) are:

Y = R*Sine(Theta)
Z = -RR-CR+R*Cosine(Theta)
where:
RR= the rounding radius;
CR= the cutter radius;
R= RR+CR.

Using the values of CR= 0.25 inch, RR= 1.0 inch and R= 1.25 inch, the position of the bottom point of the cutter at 30 degrees of travel for example is Y=0.625 and Z=-0.167.

I have tried different cutters, different values for the radii to no avail. Worse yet, when I transpose the formula to the X Y plane, the round curve is cut correctly. Only when cutting in the Y-Z (or X-Z) plane does this problem occur. Almost as if the robot modifies the horizontal or vertical movement when simultaneously cutting in Y(X) and Z.

Any ideas??

The attachment is the sbp file.
sbp file for rounding edge

4587 (7.2 k)

curtesy
02-22-2010, 09:58 PM
An extra note, The SBP file reflects the original project, to wit, cut a fish hook groove in a drawer front to serve as a handle. I ran into the edge problem in the original cutting and am simplifying the problem.

ciao
Curt

widgetworks_unlimited
02-23-2010, 12:52 AM
I don't see anything out of the ordinary - the cut file progresses smoothly without the 1" jump that you're seeing.