PDA

View Full Version : Re-sizing

noah@noahsart.co.nz
04-23-2003, 03:12 PM
I am new to Vector, being an Illustrator user all my graphic life (On the Mac)
I have an issue with Vector 9 I cant figure out. When I need to resize an object in Illustrator you select it, type a final size in X and Y in the TRANSFORM pallette, and the object scales up or down to that final dimension.
In Vector I have found a proportional re-sizer, but how do you end up with a final dimension without a maths degree, or indeed lots of trial and error?

ron_cleaver
04-24-2003, 06:31 AM
With Vector, you have to select the object you want to resize, then cut and paste it. When you paste the object, a dialog provides a variety of options, including displacement, rotation and scaling.

noah@noahsart.co.nz
04-24-2003, 03:22 PM
Hi Ron
I understand that bit, and I have been there already. But when I come to paste, what I get is a scale to paste in, with reference to the previous size. What I need is an overall length from say far left to far right of the overall object. ie say you have to cut the word TEXT along the X axis, and it is currently 637mm from the beginning of the first T to the end of the last T. I want this to be 1000mm exactly. How do you do this? I wouldn't have a clue how to evaluate the scale needed.

gittel
04-24-2003, 03:54 PM
If the original object is 637 mm wide and you want the new object to be 1000 mm wide, cut the object to the clipboard (^x) and then paste the object (^v).
When you paste, Vector brings up the "paste" dialog, which allows you to offset and scale the pasted object. You can actually type "1000/637" in the "scale" field, and Vector will calculate the scale factor for you. Alternatively, you can use a calculator to divide 1000 by 637.

Mike

noah@noahsart.co.nz
04-24-2003, 04:10 PM
Hi Mike
That is really helpful. Thanks.
HOWEVER what if you have imported the file from a client and do not know its dimensions? How do you measure these exactly?

gittel