PDA

View Full Version : How to set a temperary home, and return to orginal home

cncworld
11-03-2008, 12:46 PM
Hi all, yes a simple question using the Shopbot Controlling software 3.XX.
There are times I want to temperary set a new home starting point, in G-code it would be simply jogging where one want to set a temperay 0,0 and then use a (G92) command. Ok, I think I figure this part out, but how does one return to the original home position?

Russ

scottbot
11-03-2008, 01:50 PM
Russell,
I'm still fairly new at it but I know of two possible ways.
1. Jog to the location where you want start your cut. Start your part file and when the Fill-in Sheet for [FP] Command comes up pick option 2 in the Offset in 2D or 3D drop down menu. Your original home position is still 0,0 so you can return to it when you are done cutting.

That might not be the answer you want so here's another option. I use this when I am setting the 0,0 on my table.

2. Zero your X and Y using the C3 command. This uses the Prox Switches to set the location and is not likely where you want your 0,0. When the C3 command is finished move to your desired X and Y home position using your arrow keys. Write down the new location of your X and Y. NOW YOU SHOULD SET YOUR X AND Y TO ZERO. Sorry for yelling. I often forget to do that step and I pay for it. Now you can set your 0,0 anywhere you want and return to the original by using the C3 command and then moving your X and Y to the location that you wrote down. I have written a custom routine for this because I use it every day and assigned it to custom number C8.

My custom offset routine is really simple and looks like this:

'Offset 0,0 home position after C3 routine.

M2 0.089, -0.611
ZX
ZY
END

I'm sure there are more elegant ways to do this but this gets the job done.