PDA

View Full Version : MY DUST SYSTEM... VERY EFFICIENT

cncworld
09-20-2008, 02:13 PM
Hi all... I am new to ShopBot, but not to the cnc world.... Years ago, with my first desktop cnc system I retofitted a dust collection boot that worked well with a shopvac. With most machining it is very efficient. ShopBot however presented new challenges, I did finally come with with a design that was easy to install, using existing thread holes (see pictures).

Russ

cncworld
09-20-2008, 02:16 PM

phil_o
09-20-2008, 06:27 PM
Interesting, what is the shoe made of?

cncworld
09-20-2008, 09:13 PM
Hi Phil..... it is a poly type of material, like nylon.... Easy to machine, and very durable, I also use it to make signs, the last picture shows it being cut. You also may notice, unlike the ShopBot, the shoe doesn't ride up and down with the z axis movement. It is adjusted to the top of the material, it will in most cases pick up most of the dust/debris......

phil_o
09-21-2008, 10:34 AM
Then the shoe is rigid. Is there a flexible material such as a brush or soft plastic on the underside? If there are clamps holding down the material, how does the shoe ride over the clamp?

cncworld
09-21-2008, 07:33 PM
Hi again.... there are no brushes of any type, brushes leak air, therefore making the dust collection inefficient. One sets the vacuum shoe just above the material. As far as "clamps", I do not use them. I use either double-sided tape or a hold-down vacuum system (I will post this at another time) to hold the material in place. I know this is different than what you have seen, but I used this type of system for many years and it works very well. Also one can use the shoe to ride on top of the material being cut to act as an anti-vibration while cutting, if chooses to do so.

rb99
11-28-2008, 04:34 PM
I really like the way you made it...really nice work. I like the way the hose is attached as well as the height adjusted. Well done.

Is the material foam injected PVC?