PDA

View Full Version : Wood Grain Texture

sevans
03-14-2008, 06:53 PM
Hello,

I am looking for someone with 3D software capability to create a wood grain file for me. I am interested in a woodgrain that would look similar to grain frame sandblasted signage. If anyone would like to take on this task please drop me a line or respond to this thread. I am prepared to handle this in a professional manner. Thanks much! S. Evans (Appalachian Signs & Design)

brucehiggins
03-14-2008, 07:26 PM
I am just getting started but you can take a look at the sign at the top of my website: http://www.brusigns.com
I can do it or show you how. That style isn't as heavily textured as sandblasted signs.
Bruce

brucehiggins
03-14-2008, 08:17 PM
THEN I look at your website..... Like the kindergartner trying to teach the teacher. Are the woodgrain ones you have sandblasted?

sleepy
03-14-2008, 09:24 PM
Here is a site that has many textures.
http://www.cgtextures.com/

Brady Watson
03-14-2008, 10:28 PM
Sarah,
FYI - ShopBot PartWorks2D (or VCarve Pro) will create a woodgrain pattern that is much faster than a 3D relief generated pattern.

-B

joe
03-14-2008, 11:15 PM
Dear Sarah,

I think we are on the same page with this quest.

I've posted the same question on several forums like ArtCam and here. From that I received lots of "How To" advice. Haven't seen any satisfactory examples. Unless you've been blasting redwood, cedar, and HDU there is little chance of knowing what to look for. It's this artists belief, you can't out-do mother nature. The Grain Frame is the closest I've found.

The only solution, for us, was to take a couple of 2'X8' panels to the blast cabinet. A small Grain Framed panel, will not enlarge up 8'or 10' and maintain the deliclate pattern and detail. It must be made to size!

Terry, my main man, just finished blasting our demo panels today. With that chore behind us, the next task is a high resolution Tiff for Photoshop.