PDA

View Full Version : Blown edges in cedar letters

cnc_works
09-13-2007, 11:30 PM
We hear off in the distance a quiet cry, it grows and grows until there is a full blown scream of panic and desparation.

Yup, that's me.

Most of the carving I have done is V carving with some raised letters in harder woods. I'm working on a 36" X 72" oval sign in western cedar and what you see is what I got.

A fresh 1/2" double edge end mill, resharpened, but it passes the thumbnail scrape test. 1200rpm, 90ipm, .25 stepover. .25 deep. You see the first cut, still on the raster with the 1/2" profile yet to come, with a planned 1/8" clean-up pass coming after to catch what the 1/2 bit doesn't. As you can see, corners and edges are being blown right out. No way will the profile cut clean up enough and I suspect not even if I climb cut everything.

Soooo, help!!!!!!!!!!!!!! please.

Donn

scottcox
09-14-2007, 12:33 AM
Donn,

I'm no sign expert, but how about try a different toolpath stategy and do area clears or profiles. Select the insides of the letters first and area clear, then select the letter's outer vectors AND the outer oval, group them to create an area between the letters and the oval then area clear that with the offset option.

I think you'll get a lot cleaner letter edges than you would rastering.

Just an idea. Good luck.

Brady Watson
09-14-2007, 01:50 AM
1) Use a down-cut spiral as 1st choice or straight bit as 2nd choice.

2) Use a climb-mill toolpath strategy, not conventional.

-B

elcruisr
09-14-2007, 07:03 AM
I've done many of these for sign shops and cedar is a pain! But, like Brady said, downcut spiral, climb cut profiles with a .040 finish pass and a very small chipload. The smaller chipload means more RPMS and lower tool life but, for me at least, has meant better letters in cedar. I also found a low helix polished O-flute plastics tool works pretty good in this stuff. Also keep some glue handy, You'll still have a chip to fix once in a while.....