PDA

View Full Version : New to this, types of plastic

ryan_slaback
08-10-2006, 07:55 AM
I am new to the idea of signmaking, but one of the tasks my school district wants me to do now that we have a shopbot is to make our signs inhouse. However, I have no idea which types of plastic I should use and I notice there is quite a bit of difference in price.

One of the tasks is to make new desk signs for everyone. This will be done with .500 inch clear plastic and then I will make a wooden holder. What type of plastic should I use? Everything will be decorative so there is no need for anything high strength.

kerrazy
08-10-2006, 10:06 AM
Cast acrylic would be my choice using slow feed and speed rates to ensure you are getting soap like chips being removed.

billp
08-10-2006, 11:30 AM
Ryan,
Dale is correct in that cast acrylic usually cuts very well. One thing I did in the past was to use one of the "flourescent Acrylics",in this case put out by the Cyro company (Acrylite FL is the name of the material, and it costs about $150 for a 4'by 8' sheet of .125"around here..).
As you can see from the attached picture it's beauty is that you cut your letters from behind, and as soon as the surface is pierced it gives off the illusion that the letters are illuminated like neon! Absolutely NO finishing required.
And when you have to justify the expense to your district point out to them that the material costs about $5 per square foot, and that should let you make name blanks for about $1 apiece...
By the way this material is also great for fundraisers such as PTA events, etc (do some key rings with the school logo, etc.), and any topical /timely event the school encounters..

ryan_slaback
08-10-2006, 06:33 PM
What material would you use for something thick though? I imagine a sheet of half inch cast acrylic would cost a first born or two.

billp
08-10-2006, 10:14 PM