PDA

View Full Version : Stencil

tomahack
03-08-2008, 01:23 PM
I'm new to CNC and I have to make 1000 stencils in Lexan 0,05" thick. Bottom traces are 1mm wide with a "V" cut of 60 degrees. There is a lot of engraving too. I was leaning toward a BT32 Alpha to do the job. My question is: " Is it a walk on the park or completely impossible? I have the DXF file on hand. I will use the BT32 afterward to cut wood and alu.

Photo of the stencil: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2308/2319236002_9bf48a4b58_o.jpg

Thanks a lot!

gpari
03-08-2008, 02:28 PM
Easy as pie. I'm sure alot of us would be glad to run the job for you. (wink wink)

Gabe Pari
www.socalteardrops.com (http://www.socalteardrops.com)

tomahack
03-08-2008, 02:41 PM
Thanks Gabe. The answer I was looking for. I will order my BT32 next week. :-)

Oh by the way, where can I find more info on fuse disconnect switches? Absolutely neccessary for Alpha?

paco
03-08-2008, 06:18 PM
It would still be advisable to run some tests since V bit do not machine very well in plastics... if you base the investment of the tool on this job... it may cut through easy but you don't want to end up with clean up to do, don't you?!

It look to me that you need a pretty clean cut.

Don't forget about vacuum hold down as well.

tomahack
03-08-2008, 07:02 PM
What are you suggesting regarding bits? Angle of cut is not critical. Something like a tapered mill? Yes, the cut must be clean.

http://www.bitsbits.net/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=20&products _id=52

joe
03-08-2008, 07:15 PM
I'd vear on the side of caution as Paco suggests.

mmccue29
03-08-2008, 08:53 PM
looks like a laser job to me

tomahack
03-08-2008, 10:16 PM
I want to use the CNC afterward for wood and alu so laser is not an option.

scottcox
03-08-2008, 10:41 PM
Jean,

Certainly not impossible, but don't underestimate the complexity of it.

Things to consider are hold-down method, time to cut, bit/feed/speed selection and your learning curve for the shopbot.