PDA

View Full Version : Thru-cut questions

wardsa
03-23-2007, 08:08 AM
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but. I am new to CNC, would like to buy in the next couple weeks, but I'm concerned if this is what I need. I do primarily custom cabinets. 90% of what I do is from 4X8 sheet. I'm concerned about not being able to thur-cut the sheets. I don't want to double handle/ trim the pieces I cut. How is this done without spending more for a vaccum then for the machine? Plus I am limited to single phase. Am I asking for too much. Please help! I want one of these machines!
Thanks, Terry

beacon14
03-23-2007, 08:18 AM
I use 2 Fein vacs and have no problem cutting through sheets. If there are no small parts I can through-cut in one pass, but I usually use the 2-pass method leaving .02 on the first pass and through-cutting on the second. With really small parts you can use tabs to hold them in place.

Don't let that particular concern stop you from getting a CNC machine. (I also have only single phase, and use a router - still dreaming of a spindle)

harryball
03-23-2007, 09:17 AM
I use 2 feins and cut 1/2" and 3/4" 4x8 sheets all the way through in a single pass all the time. The smallest part I can generally cut without tabbing is 4" x 19" or in your case a small toe kick. But I have to cut the smaller parts first while the majority of the board is still intact. This maintains the vacuum.

I'm running a 4HP HSD spindle and I'm all single phase, no 3 phase available here.

Robert

handh
03-23-2007, 09:28 AM
Terry,

Like what you are planing to do with your bot is what I do 90% of the time also. I do have a roots single phase blower and a 3hp single phase spindle.