PDA

View Full Version : 3d models to shopbot advice

fearstyle
06-03-2007, 04:17 PM
I am a 3d modeler at heart and I am in the comp art department at School of Visual Arts / Fine Arts. We just got ourselves a huge shopbot and I have some experience sending 3d models off to a shopbot now, I know a buddy who has one and has done things for me on small scale from 3d models in halves like a face ect. While sending a 3d object to be milled from a solid material like that is one thing, what im looking for is some advice or tutorial on taking something pratical like a desk modeled in 3d and blowing it apart to make actual pieces to create tool paths with and cut from various materials to make those parts.

A Simple example would be this simple render of this desk Or even better yet a simpler design of a traditional desk perhaps. Point is it’s a solid single model and want to go from that to building independent parts and tool paths to send to a shopbot without too much fuss .

Right now I do most my Modeling in Maya while I am working on buffing my skills in studio tools, know my way around Max as well. Just sat down with rivet but have not had the time to really explore just yet.

Can any one point me in the right direction?

tgm
06-03-2007, 04:53 PM
"...Point is it’s a solid single model and want to go from that to building independent parts and tool paths to send to a shopbot without too much fuss"

The above statement is easier said than done and would be the 'Holy Grail' equivilent to anyone running a CNC. To get even close to what you are looking for plan on spending $15-20K for just the software and even then you won't get what you asking.
Designing on a screen is one thing, producing the parts in an efficient manner is a whole other ball game.

Good Luck.... and if you do come up with a way that works you will never have to work again!

Tom in PA

fearstyle
06-03-2007, 05:34 PM