PDA

View Full Version : Future User...Can I do this

david_shaw
01-25-2008, 11:31 AM
I make archery grips for bows. I have been doing this with power and hand tools for the past two years. I use a table saw, two router tables, bandsaw, 48" belt sander, spindle sander, chop saw, 4 orbital sanders each with a different grit of paper and two buffing machines in various steps for each grip made. I have it down to where it takes 28 minutes to make one grip. BUT I am getting tired of doing all these steps for each grip since I do several thousand of these grips each year in my part time (every evening and all weekend). Also I have a couple of new bow manufactures that may be wanting grips. I am wondering if anyone is doing something similar on their CNC machine?

The grips are made from a block that is 1 1/8 x 2 1/4 x 5 inch in size. I quess my questions are...

Does this look like an application for a CNC?
How to hold the small stock.. Looks like clamping or tape
Length of time to 3d a profile of the grip.
Corners must be sharp, NO chipping.
Each grip has a slot in it that has an inside radius. Looks like I wood need an indexer/4th axis to cut that.
How smooth will the grip come off the CNC. I still plan on hand sanding from, 360 grit and up.

Any info that you might be able to throw this way would be much appreciated.

henrik_o
01-25-2008, 01:42 PM
Does it need to be machined out of one blank, or would it be acceptable to machine two halves that were then glued together? While that is in itself an added step, since there is in any case a need to machine both sides of a half, you could machine pilot holes and use a simple glue jig to increase productivity.

As far as I can tell the latter method would lend itself to easier and faster machining. It should be possible to machine many handle halves out of one blank, and so on.