PDA

View Full Version : Standard vs alpha

dan_nelson
08-29-2009, 10:56 PM
Im a one man shop looking to get into a bot.I have no cnc experience.Should i think about starting out with a standard with a high hp spindle and up grading at a later date with the faster alpha up grades? I will be using the machine for panel prosessing and carving. Looking at a 96x60x6 thanks for your help.

Gary Campbell
08-29-2009, 11:22 PM
Dan...
If you are going to cut cabinet panels for a living, I strongly reccommend the Alpha. There are other features other than just the speed to consider. The Alpha IS the professional machine.

IF I was on a budget, I would rather have an Alpha with a router than a standard with a spindle.

The power that is required for panel processing, especially drilling, are right at the limits for the standard. Even tho it is said that the Standard can do all that the Alpha can, only slower, is not 100% accurate.

Panel processing, cutting hardwoods and drilling hard materials, especially Melamine are best left to the full power machines.

I have cut with both the PRStandard and Alpha. I own an Alpha 9660.
Gary

gene
08-29-2009, 11:26 PM
Dan,
I do panels with mine and i got the alpha because the alpha has a closed motor system meaning if it looses a step it will stop. If a standard looses steps you dont know until the parts are finished and no good. Check the for sale area on the site , i think i have seen one . also i think that you can re register it with shopbot and get support from them. Check with them and if i am wrong i am sure i will be told so SOON !

richards
08-30-2009, 10:57 AM
Dan,

Check with Shopbot before going any further. Ted recently announced that the PRS-Standard will use a new motor/driver combination from Oriental Motor.