PDA

View Full Version : Bamboo plywood and wheatboard feed rates

laura
02-25-2008, 07:23 PM
Hi guys!
I am cutting two sheets, 3/4" solid grain bamboo plywood and 3/4" wheatboard. I have previously used the ShopBot to cut 3/4" Medex (formaldehyde-free particle board). I have a question about feed and speed rates. The Medex took 8-9 hours at 1 ips, 15000 rpm with a plunge rate of .125 inches. I used these same rates with the bamboo ply previously. The folks at Plyboo said the solid grain cuts like maple or "any other hardwood." But, they weren't sure of the rates.

There were no burn marks and the cuts seemed clean enough. But, the tech at my school (yes! I'm a student) thinks that 1 ips is way too slow and thinks it'll be a danger because of the dust that forms. Additionally, I'd like to cut the time down to less than the 8 hours it took. But, he didn't have any suggestions on rates. Any suggestions for cutting both plyboo and wheatboard?

Thanks for your time. I am amazed by the expertise I've seen on these postings.

Gary Campbell
02-25-2008, 07:52 PM
Laura..
We have had some experience with Bamboo. It is hard like Maple, but more fibrous. You didnt mention what kind of stepdown you were using, but I would would definately kick up the feed speed. Do a practice cut at 3/8 Stepdown, 2.5 ips and lower the RPM to 12-13,000. Check your chipload and ears and adjust accordigly. We have had the best luck with single O Flutes in these types of material. Specifically the Onsrud 65-000 series in upshear or the 64-000 series for downshear.
Gary

laura
02-25-2008, 10:20 PM
Dear Gary,

Sorry, I was using a .125" stepdown, not plunge rate. I used a 1/4" carbide straight double flute bit, but it's been recommended that I try an upcut spiral double flute. Have you tried that or do you still recommend the O flute from Onsrud? Any suggestions for wheatboard?

Thanks so much for your speedy reply. I appreciate your input. I'll give your suggestions a try.

Laura

Gary Campbell